Funding

The Council of Canadian Academies (CCA) is registered under the Canada Not-for-Profit Corporations Act. It was created in 2005 and received a $30 million endowment from the Government of Canada to complete up to five assessments, per year, over a 10-year period. In 2015, this commitment was renewed with an additional $15 million over five years to complete up to four assessments per year.

Conditions on the use of these funds, including the CCA’s arms-length status, are set out in a formal funding agreement between the CCA and the Government of Canada, as represented by the Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development (ISED). In return for this funding, the CCA conducts up to four assessments each year for the Government of Canada on topics proposed to the Minister of Science by various government departments and agencies.

The CCA also conducts assessments outside of the federal government agreement. These assessments are referred to the CCA by non-profits, non-governmental organizations, the private sector, or provincial and municipal governments. All assessment questions and the final reports, regardless of source, must be approved by the CCA’s Board of Governors.

For information on how to propose or fund an assessment, visit the Sponsor Information page

Mailing List Signup

Receive our newsletter, notifications of new assessments topics, news releases, and more!
Preference English  Français
Council Feature

Council of Canadian Academies Releases its 2015/16 Annual Report

Council of Canadian Academies Releases its 2015/16 Annual Report (Ottawa – July 28, 2016) Today, the Council of C...
read more

Financement

Le Conseil des académies canadiennes (CAC) a été constitué en société en vertu de la Loi sur les corporations canadiennes. Il a été créé en 2005 et a reçu une subvention de 30 millions de dollars du gouvernement du Canada afin de compléter jusqu’à cinq évaluation par année pour une période de 10 ans. En 2015, cette entente a été renouvelée avec une subvention additionnelle de 15 millions de dollars afin de compléter jusqu’à quatre évaluations par année pour une période de 5 ans.

Les conditions régissant l’utilisation de ces fonds, qui comprennent un statut d’indépendance du CAC vis-à-vis du gouvernement, sont définies par un accord officiel de financement entre le CAC et le ministre de l'Innovation, des Sciences et du Développement économique, au nom du gouvernement du Canada. En échange de ces fonds, le CAC mène jusqu’à quatre évaluations par année pour le gouvernement du Canada sur des sujets proposés à la ministre des Sciences par divers ministères et agences du gouvernement.

Le CAC peut en outre mener des évaluations à l’extérieur du cadre de son entente avec le gouvernement du Canada. Ces évaluations pourraient être demandées au CAC par des fondations, des organismes non gouvernementaux, le secteur privé ou tout palier de gouvernement. Toutes les questions d’évaluation et les rapports finaux, peu importe la source, doivent être approuvés par le conseil des gouverneurs du CAC.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur la manière de proposer ou de financer une évaluation, veuillez consulter la page Renseignements pour les commanditaires.

Inscrivez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

Recevez nos avis, communiqués, publications, etc.!
Préférence English  Français
En vedette

Mise à jour des développements : comité d'experts sur l'aide médicale à mourir

Appel à contribution Pour éclairer ses délibérations, le comité d’experts sur ...
détails