The State of Knowledge and Practice of Integrated Approaches to Natural Resource Management in Canada

Natural Resources Canada has asked the Council of Canadian Academies (CCA) to undertake an expert panel assessment on the current state of knowledge of integrated approaches to natural resource management in Canada. Integrated natural resource management refers to ways of managing natural resources that consider a comprehensive range of needs and uses and their sustainability over the long term.

The Question

What is the state of knowledge and practice of integrated approaches to natural resource management in Canada?

Progress Report

The Expert Panel on Integrated Natural Resource Management held its first meeting February 28 to March 1 in Ottawa. Panel members, made up of experts from across Canada, met to familiarize themselves with the scope and charge of the assessment, hear from the sponsor, and decide on how best to gather evidence and research in preparation for their next meeting. Over the coming months, the Panel will guide CCA staff in the evidence-gathering process. A report outline and a presentation of the evidence and main themes will be prepared for the Panel’s second meeting, to be held in June, in western Canada. It is anticipated the final report will be released in early 2018.

Background

Canada is endowed with a diversity of resources. In some regions, energy, forestry, and mining activities, for example, may all occur simultaneously and in close proximity. While each of these activities may on its own have well-understood environmental, social, and economic impacts, when considered together, the impact can be complex and significant. Historically, resource management decisions were made on a project-by-project basis, but there is a growing interest in deploying more integrated approaches that consider the full set of activities occurring in an area to better support decision-making and the sustainable use of all resources.

In recent years, integrated natural resource management has been gaining momentum in Canada. However, progress and barriers are difficult to assess and evaluate. This new assessment by the CCA will bring together a disparate knowledge base to shed new light on how both science and traditional knowledge can be best applied to enhance the management of natural resources in Canada. It will focus on land-based resource management, including agricultural production. Freshwater systems (surface and groundwater) affected by land-based activities are also within the scope of the assessment.

Expert Panel

The Chair of the Expert Panel on Integrated Natural Resource Management is Cassie Doyle, CEO of the Canadian International Resources and Development Institute. For a complete list of panel members, visit the Expert Panel page.

For further information, please contact:

Jérôme Marty, Project Director at 613-567-5000 ext. 231 or jerome.marty@scienceadvice.ca

For media inquiries, please contact:

Samantha Rae Ayoub, Communications and Publishing Director at 613-567-5000 ext. 256 or samantha.rae@scienceadvice.ca

 

Mailing List Signup

Receive our newsletter, notifications of new assessments topics, news releases, and more!
Preference English  Français
Additional Information

L’état des connaissances et des pratiques relatives aux approches de gestion intégrée des ressources naturelles au Canada

Le ministère des Ressources naturelles du Canada a demandé au Conseil des académies canadiennes (CAC) de constituer un comité d’experts pour entreprendre une évaluation de l’état actuel des connaissances sur les approches intégrées utilisées au Canada pour la gestion des ressources naturelles. La gestion intégrée des ressources naturelles désigne les façons de gérer les ressources naturelles qui tiennent compte de la gamme complète des besoins et des utilisations de ces ressources et qui voient à leur durabilité à long terme.

La question

Quel est l’état des connaissances et des pratiques relatives aux approches de gestion intégrée des ressources naturelles au Canada?

Stade d’avancement de l’évaluation

Le comité d’experts sur la gestion intégrée des ressources naturelles s’est réuni pour la première fois les 28 mars et 1er avril, à Ottawa. Les membres du comité, des experts des quatre coins du Canada, se sont réunis pour se familiariser avec la portée et le mandat de l’évaluation, en discuter avec le commanditaire et décider de la marche à suivre pour recueillir des données probantes et mener des recherches en préparation de leur prochaine réunion. Au cours des prochains mois, le comité guidera le personnel du CAC dans sa mise en œuvre du processus de collecte de données. Un canevas du rapport et une présentation des données et principaux thèmes seront préparés pour la seconde réunion du comité, qui se tiendra au mois de juin, dans l’Ouest canadien. On prévoit que le rapport final pourra être publié au début de 2018.

Contexte

Le Canada est doté d’une grande diversité de ressources. Dans certaines régions, les activités d’exploitation énergétique, de foresterie et d’exploitation minière, par exemple, peuvent être menées simultanément et à grande proximité les unes des autres. Même si les incidences environnementales, sociales et économiques propres à chacune de ces activités peuvent être bien comprises, leurs incidences combinées peuvent être complexes et importantes. Par le passé, les décisions relatives à la gestion des ressources étaient prises un projet à la fois, mais les approches plus intégrées, qui tiennent compte de l’éventail complet des activités menées dans une région pour mieux étayer les décisions et soutenir l’utilisation durable de toutes les ressources, suscitent un intérêt croissant.

Depuis quelques années, la gestion intégrée des ressources naturelles est de plus en plus prisée au Canada. Toutefois, il est difficile d’évaluer et de mesurer la progression et les obstacles à la progression de cette approche. Cette nouvelle évaluation du CAC permettra de réunir une base de connaissances pour jeter un éclairage inédit sur la façon dont la science et le savoir traditionnel peuvent le mieux servir à améliorer la gestion des ressources naturelles au Canada. Elle portera sur la gestion des ressources terrestres, y compris la production agricole. Les réseaux d’eau douce (de surface et souterrains) touchés par les activités terrestres s’inscrivent aussi dans le cadre de cette évaluation.

Le comité d’experts

Le comité d’experts sur la gestion intégrée des ressources naturelles sera présidé par Mme Cassie Doyle, directrice générale de l’Institut canadien international des ressources et du développement. Pour la liste complète des membres du comité, visitez la page du comité d’experts.

Pour de plus amples informations, veuillez communiquer avec :

Jérôme Marty, Directeur de projets, au 613 567-5000 poste 231 ou jerome.marty@scienceadvice.ca

Renseignements pour les médias, prière de s’adresser à:

Samantha Rae Ayoub, directrice des communications et des publications au 613 567-5000, poste 256 ou samantha.rae@scienceadvice.ca

Inscrivez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

Recevez nos avis, communiqués, publications, etc.!
Préférence English  Français
Information supplémentaire