Opportunities and Challenges for Regenerative Medicine in Canada

Innovation, Science, and Economic Development Canada (ISED) and Health Canada have asked the Council of Canadian Academies (CCA) to undertake a workshop assessment on the opportunities and challenges for regenerative medicine in Canada. The project is meant to highlight Canada’s strengths in this area relative to other countries, and will be used to inform the ongoing review of fundamental science in Canada more generally. Specifically, the project will explore the state of science in this area and the following questions will be discussed in a facilitated workshop:

The Questions

1. What are Canada’s strengths in regenerative medicine (and why are they strengths)? Consider the following categories:

  • Basic research
  • Development of cell-based regenerative therapies
  • Drug, device, and technology development
  • Translation of therapies to the clinic
  • Human resources and capital
  • Collaboration/networks
  • Regulatory/ethics environment
  • Funding environment/resource allocation

2. Given these strengths, what are the opportunities that exist and barriers that must be overcome for Canada to ensure that it can excel at regenerative medicine in the international arena?

Progress Report

A two-day workshop was held in Toronto, Ontario on October 13 to 14 on the state of regenerative medicine in Canada. It was guided by the Workshop Steering Committee, and attended by 18 Workshop Participants. The results of the workshop will be published in a report to be released in early 2017.

Background

Many disease treatments manage the symptoms of a condition, but fail to treat its underlying causes. The appeal of regenerative medicine lies in its curative approach. It replaces or regenerates human cells, tissues, or organs to restore or establish normal function using stem cells. A well-established example of regenerative medicine is the use of bone marrow transplants for leukemia.

Regenerative medicine has the potential to transform healthcare by treating previously incurable chronic diseases and conditions, including diabetes, heart disease, osteoporosis, and spinal cord injuries. In doing so it could also improve the quality of peoples’ lives and generate significant economic benefits. Regenerative medicine is a multidisciplinary field, involving a number of stakeholders throughout the development process; from the scientists who make applied research discoveries which enable the possibility of treatment, through regulatory hurdles and industry investment, to end-point clinicians offering these treatments to patients.

The CCA’s workshop will bring together experts from a variety of disciplines and sectors to offer insight into the state of regenerative medicine in Canada, and identify opportunities and challenges to ensure future Canadian excellence.

Workshop Steering Committee and Participants

To lead the development of the workshop and complete the necessary background research, the CCA has appointed a four-member Steering Committee, chaired by Dr. Janet Rossant, President & Scientific Director, Gairdner Foundation. Other steering committee members are Dr. Tania Bubela, Professor, School of Public Health, University of Alberta, Dr. Allen Eaves, President & CEO of STEMCELL Technologies, and Dr. Michael Rudnicki, Senior Scientist & Director, Regenerative Medicine Program and Sprott Centre for Stem Cell Research, Ottawa Hospital Research Institute, and CEO and Scientific Director, Stem Cell Network.

Workshop Participants 

Workshop attendees participated in a two-day discussion to respond to the charge set out by Innovation, Science, and Economic Development Canada (ISED) and Health Canada. The participants had expertise, experience, and demonstrated leadership in Canadian research and development in the area of regenerative medicine; translating research into clinical practice; public awareness; supportive infrastructure such as funding and collaborative networks; and policies governing research, clinical translation, and delivery of therapies. For a complete list of workshop participants, visit the Workshop Participants page.

For further information, please contact:

Christina Stachulak, Senior Advisor to the President at 613-866-3073 or christina.stachulak@scienceadvice.ca

For media inquiries, please contact:

Samantha Rae Ayoub, Communications and Publishing Director at 613-567-5000 ext. 256 or
samantha.rae@scienceadvice.ca

Mailing List Signup

Receive our newsletter, notifications of new assessments topics, news releases, and more!
Preference English  Français
Additional Information

Possibilités et défis en médecine régénérative au Canada

Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada (ISDE) et Santé Canada ont demandé au Conseil des académies canadiennes (CAC) d’organiser un atelier pour évaluer les possibilités et les défis qui se posent dans le domaine de la médecine régénérative au Canada. Ce projet a pour but de cerner les atouts du Canada dans ce domaine par rapport aux autres pays et sera utilisé pour éclairer l’examen continu des sciences fondamentales au Canada de façon plus générale. En particulier, il servira à examiner l’état de la science dans ce domaine et les questions suivantes seront abordées dans le cadre d’un atelier animé :

Les questions

1. Quels sont les atouts du Canada dans le domaine de la médecine régénérative (et pourquoi sont-ils des atouts)? Considérer les catégories suivantes :

  • la recherche fondamentale;
  • la mise au point de thérapies cellulaires régénératives;
  • la mise au point de médicaments, de dispositifs et de technologies;
  • l’application de thérapies en milieu clinique;
  • les ressources humaines et le capital;
  • les collaborations/réseaux;
  • le cadre réglementaire/éthique;
  • le cadre financier et l’allocation des ressources.

2. Compte tenu de ces atouts, quelles possibilités s’offrent au Canada et quels obstacles doit-il surmonter pour pouvoir exceller sur la scène internationale en médecine régénérative?

État d’avancement du projet

Un atelier a été tenu pendant deux jours, soit les 13 et 14 octobre, à Toronto (Ontario) sur l’état de la médecine régénérative au Canada. L’atelier était guidé par le comité directeur de l’atelier et comptait 18 participants. Les résultats de l’atelier seront publiés dans un rapport qui paraîtra au début de 2017. 

Contexte

Plusieurs traitements s’attaquent aux symptômes liés aux états de santé, mais ne touchent pas aux causes sous-jacentes. L’attrait de la médecine régénérative réside dans son approche curative. À l’aide de cellules souches, elle remplace ou régénère les cellules, tissus ou organes humains afin de rétablir ou d’établir leur fonctionnement normal. Un exemple qui a fait ses preuves est le recours à la greffe de moelle osseuse pour traiter les personnes souffrant de leucémie.

La médecine régénérative est susceptible de transformer les soins de santé en traitant des maladies et des états de santé chroniques autrefois incurables, dont le diabète, les maladies coronariennes, l’ostéoporose et les blessures de la colonne vertébrale. Ce faisant, elle pourrait aussi améliorer la vie des gens et générer des retombées économiques importantes. La médecine régénérative est un domaine multidisciplinaire dont l’ensemble du processus de développement implique plusieurs intervenants; des scientifiques qui font des découvertes en recherche appliquée qui ouvrent la voie à de nouveaux traitements, aux cliniciens qui, une fois les obstacles réglementaires surmontés et les investissements réalisés par l’industrie, offrent ces traitements aux patients.

L’atelier du CAC réunira des experts de plusieurs disciplines et secteurs qui seront chargés de sonder l’état de la médecine régénérative au Canada et de cerner les possibilités et les défis qui se posent au Canada dans ses efforts visant à maintenir son excellence dans ce domaine.

Le comité directeur de l’atelier et les participants

Pour diriger l’organisation de cet atelier et réaliser les recherches préliminaires nécessaires, le CAC a constitué un comité directeur de quatre membres, présidé par Janet Rossant, présidente et directrice scientifique de la Fondation Gairdner. Les autres membres du comité directeur sont Tania Bubela, professeure à l’École de santé publique de l’Université de l’Alberta; le Dr Allen Eaves, président et premier dirigeant de STEMCELL Technologies; et Michael Rudnicki, scientifique principal et directeur du Programme de médecine régénérative et du Centre de recherche sur les cellules souches Sprott de l’Institut de recherche de l’Hôpital d’Ottawa et directeur général et scientifique du Réseau de cellules souches.

Participants à l’atelier

Les participants à l’atelier ont pris part à deux journées de discussion pour remplir le mandat confié par Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada (ISDE) et Santé Canada. Les participants sont des personnes d’expertise et d’expérience et sont des chefs de file au Canada dans la recherche-développement en médecine régénérative; dans l’application clinique de la recherche; dans la sensibilisation du public; dans les structures de soutien telles que le financement et les réseaux de collaboration; et dans les politiques régissant la recherche, l’application clinique et la prestation des thérapies. Pour la liste complète des participants à l’atelier, visitez la page des Participants à l’atelier.

Pour de plus amples informations, veuillez communiquer avec :

Christina Stachulak, Conseillère principale du Président, tél. 613-866-3073; courriel christina.stachulak@scienceadvice.ca

Pour les demandes de renseignements des médias, veuillez communiquer avec :

Samantha Rae Ayoub, directrice des communications et des publications (tél. 613-567-5000, poste 256; courriel samantha.rae@scienceadvice.ca ).

Inscrivez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

Recevez nos avis, communiqués, publications, etc.!
Préférence English  Français
Information supplémentaire