Towards a Science Policy in Alberta

The Council of Canadian Academies (CCA) is undertaking a workshop assessment on science policy ideas under development in Alberta. The workshop will engage national and international experts to explore various dimensions of sub-national science systems and the role of sub-national science policy.

Progress Report

A two-day workshop was held in Canmore, Alberta on November 21 to 22 on the science enterprise in Alberta and the role of subnational science policy in supporting science at the provincial level. It was guided by the Workshop Steering Committee, and attended by 11 Workshop Participants. The results of the workshop will be published in a report to be released in early 2017.

Background

A two-day workshop, which took place November 21 to 22, 2016, brought together a multidisciplinary and multi-sectoral group of leading Canadian and international experts to review, validate, and advance work being done on science policy in Alberta. The workshop explored the necessary considerations when creating science policy at the sub-national level. Specifically, participants did the following:

  • Debate and validate the main outcomes of a sub-national science enterprise, particularly in relation to knowledge, human, and social capital.
  • Identify the key elements and characteristics of a successful science enterprise (e.g., funding, trust, capacity, science culture, supporting interconnections and relationships), with a particular focus at a sub-national level.
  • Explore potential intents of a sub-national science policy, important features of such a policy, and the role of the policy in informing investment decisions.

The workshop results will be published in a final summary report, and made available on the website, in early 2017.

This workshop assessment is supported by a grant from the Government of Alberta.

Workshop Steering Committee Members and Workshop Participants

To lead the design of the workshop, complete the necessary background research, and develop the workshop summary report, the CCA has appointed a five member Workshop Steering Committee, chaired by Joy Johnson, FCAHS, Vice President, Research, Simon Fraser University. The other Steering Committee members are: Paul Dufour, Adjunct Professor, Institute for Science, Society and Policy, University of Ottawa, Principal, Paulicy Works; Janet Halliwell, Principal, J.E. Halliwell Associates, Inc.; Kaye Husbands Fealing, Chair and Professor, School of Public Policy, Georgia Tech; and Marc LePage, President and CEO, Genome Canada.

Workshop Participants 

Workshop attendees participated in a two-day discussion to review, validate, and advance work being done on science policy in Alberta. The workshop explored the necessary considerations when creating science policy at the sub-national level. The participants had expertise, experience, and demonstrated leadership in public administration and public policy, the science and innovation interface, the evaluation of science investments, and science culture. For a complete list of workshop participants, visit the Workshop Participants page.

For further information, please contact:

Tijs Creutzber, Director of Assessments at 613-567-5000 ext. 232 or tijs.creutzberg@scienceadvice.ca

For media inquiries, please contact:

Samantha Rae Ayoub, Communications and Publishing Director at 613-567-5000 ext. 256 or
samantha.rae@scienceadvice.ca

Mailing List Signup

Receive our newsletter, notifications of new assessments topics, news releases, and more!
Preference English  Français
Additional Information

La politique scientifique en Alberta

Le Conseil des académies canadiennes (CAC) a mis sur pied un atelier d’experts pour évaluer les idées proposées en Alberta en matière de politique scientifique. L’atelier réunira des experts canadiens et étrangers qui auront pour mandat d’examiner les diverses dimensions des systèmes scientifiques infranationaux ainsi que le rôle d’une politique scientifique infranationale.

Stade d’avancement de l’évaluation

Un atelier de deux jours a été tenu les 21 et 22 novembre à Canmore, en Alberta, sur l’entreprise scientifique en Alberta et sur le rôle d’une politique scientifique infranationale à l’échelle provinciale. Il était guidé par le comité directeur de l’atelier et comptait 11 participants. Les résultats de l’atelier seront publiés dans un rapport qui paraîtra au début de 2017.

Contexte

Un atelier de deux jours, tenu les 21 et 22 novembre 2016, a réuni un groupe multidisciplinaire et multisectoriel d’éminents experts canadiens et étrangers afin d’examiner, de valider et de faire progresser les travaux menés en Alberta en matière de politique scientifique. Au cours de cet atelier, les experts se sont penchés sur les éléments qui doivent être pris en considération dans l’élaboration d’une politique scientifique à l’échelle infranationale. Plus particulièrement, ils ont :

  • débattront et valideront les principaux objectifs de l’établissement d’une politique scientifique infranationale, en particulier sur le plan des connaissances et du capital humain et social.
  • cerneront les éléments et les caractéristiques nécessaires à la réussite d’une entreprise scientifique (par exemple, le financement, la confiance, les capacités, la culture scientifique, les interconnexions et les relations de soutien), particulièrement à une échelle infranationale.
  • se pencheront sur les intentions possibles d’une politique scientifique infranationale, sur les caractéristiques importantes d’une telle politique et sur le rôle que la politique devrait avoir dans la prise des décisions d’investissement.

Les résultats de l’atelier seront publiés dans un rapport sommaire final et rendus publics sur le site Web au printemps 2017.

Cette évaluation sous forme d’atelier est financée par une subvention du gouvernement de l’Alberta. 

Les membres du comité directeur de l’atelier et les experts qui participent à l’atelier

Pour diriger la conception de l’atelier, réaliser les recherches initiales nécessaires et rédiger le rapport sommaire de l’atelier, le CAC a mis sur pied un comité directeur de l’atelier composé de cinq membres et présidé par Joy Johnson, MACSS, vice-présidente de la recherche à l’Université Simon Fraser. Les autres membres du comité directeur sont : Paul Dufour, professeur auxiliaire, Institut de recherche sur la science, la société et la politique publique, Université d’Ottawa, directeur, Paulicy Works; Janet Halliwell, directrice, J.E. Halliwell Associates Inc.; Kaye Husbands Fealing, professeure et directrice, School of Public Policy, Georgia Institute of Technology; et Marc LePage, président et chef de la direction, Génome Canada.

Participants à l’atelier

Les participants à l’atelier ont pris part à deux journées de discussion visant à examiner, à valider et à faire progresser le travail réalisé jusqu’à maintenant en Alberta en matière de politique scientifique. Ils se sont penchés sur les éléments qui doivent être pris en considération dans l’élaboration d’une politique scientifique à l’échelle infranationale. Les participants étaient des personnes ayant acquis une expertise et de l’expérience et qui ont fait preuve de leadership dans les domaines de l’administration publique et des politiques scientifiques, de l’interface entre la science et l’innovation, de l’évaluation des investissements scientifiques et de la culture scientifique. Pour consulter la liste complète des participants à l’atelier, visitez la page Participants à l’atelier.

Pour de plus amples informations, veuillez communiquer avec :

Tijs Creutzberg, directeur des évluations, tél. 613 567-5000, poste 232; courriel tijs.creutzberg@scienceadvice.ca

Pour les demandes de renseignements des médias, veuillez communiquer avec :

Samantha Rae Ayoub, directrice des communications et des publications (tél. 613 567-5000, poste 256; courriel samantha.rae@scienceadvice.ca).

Inscrivez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

Recevez nos avis, communiqués, publications, etc.!
Préférence English  Français
Information supplémentaire