The Social and Economic Value of Commercial Marine Shipping in Canada

The Clear Seas Centre for Responsible Marine Shipping (Clear Seas) asked the Council of Canadian Academies to undertake an expert panel assessment on the social and economic value of commercial marine shipping in Canada. This assessment is a separate, but complementary follow-on project to the workshop being undertaken by the Council, also for Clear Seas, on the Risks of Marine Shipping in Canadian Waters.

Progress Report

The Expert Panel on the Social and Economic Value of Commercial Marine Shipping in Canada held its second panel meeting April 21 to 22nd in Montreal. In support of their deliberations, the panel visited the Port of Montréal, where they were given an informative tour of its operations. The next panel meeting will take place in September, 2016. The report will be released in spring 2017.

Background

The high standard of living that Canadians enjoy is dependent, in part, on Canada’s involvement in global trade. About one third of exports and over a quarter of imports by value are transported by water.[i] Shipping is vital to the competitiveness of Canadian commodity exports and is a lynchpin in many Canadian supply chains. In addition to its economic value, shipping is also critical to coastal community survival and food security in the Arctic, as it is often the only source of food and other supplies for Canada’s most northern communities. Current trends in technology, climate change, emerging markets, and other factors, however, may influence the value of commercial marine shipping in the future.

This assessment will explore the extent of both economic and social value of shipping on Canada and its regions* while also looking at how shipping trends now underway might affect Canadian marine shipping activity in the future.

Question

What is the social and economic value of commercial marine shipping to Canada and its regions*? How will global trends related to shipping affect future shipping activity in Canada?

*The regions are: Atlantic Canada, Central Canada (Quebec and Ontario), Northern Canada (including Arctic and the three territories), the Prairies, and Western Canada (British Columbia and Alberta).

Expert Panel

The Chair of the Expert Panel on the Social and Economic Value of Marine Shipping in Canada is Mary R. Brooks, Professor Emerita at Dalhousie University. For a complete list of panel members visit the Expert Panel page

For further information, please contact:

Tijs Creutzberg, Program Director at 613-567-5000 ext. 232 or tijs.creutzberg@scienceadvice.ca

 


[i] Transport Canada. (2015). Marine Transportation. Retrieved June 2015, from https://www.tc.gc.ca/eng/policy/anre-menu-3019.htm.

 

Mailing List Signup

Receive our newsletter, notifications of new assessments topics, news releases, and more!
Preference English  Français
Additional Information

Sponsor: Clear Seas

La valeur sociale et économique du transport maritime commercial pour le Canada

Le Centre de transport maritime responsable Clear Seas a demandé au Conseil des académies canadiennes de réaliser au moyen d’un comité d’experts une évaluation sur la valeur sociale et économique du transport maritime au Canada. Cette évaluation constitue un projet de suivi distinct de l’atelier entrepris par le CAC, également à la demande de Clear Seas, sur les Risques liés au transport maritime dans les eaux canadiennes, tout en étant complémentaire.  

État d’avancement du projet

Le comité d’experts s’est réuni en personne pour une quatrième et dernière fois les 12 et 13 décembre 2016, à Toronto. Le comité a donné suite aux commentaires des pairs examinateurs et a mis la dernière main aux messages clés de son document. Le rapport final devrait être publié au printemps 2017.

Contexte

Le niveau de vie élevé dont jouissent les Canadiens dépend, en partie, de la participation du Canada au commerce mondial. Approximativement un tiers de la valeur des exportations et plus d’un quart de la valeur des importations transitent par bateau[i]. Le transport maritime est essentiel à la compétitivité des produits canadiens exportés et constitue l’élément pivot de plusieurs chaînes d’approvisionnement au Canada. Outre sa valeur économique, le transport maritime est essentiel à la survie et à la sécurité alimentaire des collectivités côtières arctiques et constitue souvent la seule source d’approvisionnement en nourriture et autres denrées des collectivités les plus septentrionales du Canada. Toutefois, les tendances actuelles relatives à la technologie, aux changements climatiques, aux marchés émergents et à d’autres facteurs pourraient un jour venir influencer la valeur du transport maritime commercial.      

Cette évaluation visera à déterminer de façon exploratoire la valeur économique et sociale du transport maritime pour le Canada et ses régions* et à examiner comment les tendances actuellement observées dans ce domaine pourraient influencer dans l’avenir le secteur du transport maritime canadien.   

Question

Quelle valeur sociale et économique le transport maritime commercial a-t-il pour le Canada et ses régions*? Comment les tendances mondiales en matière de transport maritime influenceront-elles les futures activités de transport maritime au Canada?

*Les régions sont : le Canada atlantique, le centre du Canada (le Québec et l’Ontario), le Nord canadien (comprend l’Arctique et les trois territoires), les Prairies et l’Ouest canadien (la Colombie-Britannique et l’Alberta).

Le comité d’experts

Mary R. Brooks, professeure émérite de l’Université Dalhousie, préside le comité d’experts sur la valeur sociale et économique du transport maritime commercial au Canada. Pour une liste complète des membres du comité d’experts, veuillez consulter la page Web du comité d’experts

Pour de plus amples informations, veuillez communiquer avec :

Tijs Creutzberg, directeur des évaluations, au 613 567-5000 poste 232 ou à l’adresse tijs.creutzberg@scienceadvice.ca

Renseignements pour les médias, prière de s’adresser à:

Samantha Rae Ayoub, directrice des communications et des publications au 613 567-5000, poste 256 ou samantha.rae@scienceadvice.ca 


[i] Transports Canada. (2015). Transport maritime. Dernière consultation en juin 2015, à l’adresse https://www.tc.gc.ca/fra/politique/anre-menu-3019.htm.

 

Inscrivez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

Recevez nos avis, communiqués, publications, etc.!
Préférence English  Français
Information supplémentaire