Other Reports

The Council of Canadian Academies is dedicated to providing science advice in the public interest. From time to time, the Council undertakes a variety of shorter, specialized reports to further its mission. These reports follow the same guidelines as the Council’s full assessments, with respect to independent, evidence-based analysis and peer review.

Paradox Lost: Explaining Canada’s Research Strength and Innovation Weakness

Paradox Lost: Explaining Canada’s Research Strength and Innovation Weakness, a new report initiated by the Council, draws upon the insights of seven assessments that examine aspects of Canada’s performance in science and technology and innovation. The report examines the complex ways in which research leads to innovation, and the factors that motivate Canadian business strategy. It also identifies four megatrends that will pose challenges for Canadian businesses in the years to come.

This report was conducted by a three-member advisory group consisting of Marcel Côté, Founding Partner of SECOR Inc.; Bob Fessenden, Fellow of the Institute for Public Economics; and Peter Nicholson, former President of the Council of Canadian Academies.

Paradox Lost was launched on October 1st in collaboration with the Economic Club of Canada.


40 Priority Research Questions for Ocean Science in Canada

In March 2011 the Council was asked by the Canadian Consortium of Ocean Research Universities (CCORU) to undertake a two-part initiative on ocean science in Canada. The first phase was to identify priority research themes with the support of a Core Group of 22 ocean experts from Canada and abroad.  This activity culminated in the development of the workshop report, 40 Priority Research Questions for Ocean Science in Canada. The report was publicly released on July 17th, 2012. The full report can be viewed here:


Canadians Making a Difference

In the fall of 2010 the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences (CAHS) asked the Council to manage the process for an evidence-based assessment on Canada’s current role in global health, to assess its comparative advantage in the context of global health needs and to articulate a rationale for Canada to play a more significant role in global health leadership. The report, Canadians Making a Difference, was publicly released on November 13th, 2011. The full report can be viewed here:


Catalyzing Canada's Digital Economy

The Council assembled a seven-member expert panel to provide input into the government’s Digital Economy Strategy. The expert panel was chaired by Dr. Peter J. Nicholson, Inaugural President of the Council of Canadian Academies.

Mailing List Signup

Receive our newsletter, notifications of new assessments topics, news releases, and more!
Preference English  Français
Additional Information

“It is clear the Council is well on its way to becoming recognized as a powerful organization for all aspects of research critical to Canada and, at the same time, useful for science globally.”

Rita R. Colwell, Distinguished University Professor at the University of Maryland, College Park, and at Johns Hopkins University Bloomberg School of Public Health, and former Director of the National Science Foundation (1998-2004)

Autres rapports

Le Conseil des académies canadiennes (CAC) s’est engagé à mettre le savoir scientifique au service du public. Occasionnellement, il entreprend la production de divers rapports spécialisés, plus brefs, dans le cadre de la poursuite de sa mission. Ces rapports suivent les mêmes lignes directrices que les évaluations complètes du CAC en ce qui a trait à l’analyse indépendante des données probantes et du processus d’examen par des pairs.

Paradoxe dissipé : Pourquoi le Canada est fort en recherche et faible en innovation

Paradoxe dissipé : Pourquoi le Canada est fort en recherche et faible en innovation, un nouveau rapport du CAC, s’appuie sur les constats de sept évaluations portant sur divers aspects de la performance du Canada dans les domaines de la science et technologie et de l’innovation. Le rapport aborde les chemins complexes par lesquels la recherche mène à l’innovation, ainsi que les facteurs qui influencent les stratégies des entreprises canadiennes. Il relève également quatre grandes tendances qui constitueront des défis pour les entreprises canadiennes dans les années à venir.

Ce rapport a été préparé par un groupe consultatif de trois membres, dont Marcel Côté, partenaire fondateur de SECOR Inc.; Bob Fessenden, membre de l’Institut d’économie publique; et Peter Nicholson, ancien président du Conseil des académies canadiennes.


Les 40 questions prioritaires pour la recherche canadienne en sciences de la mer

En mars 2011, le Consortium Canadien des universités de la recherche océanographique (CCURO) a demandé au CAC d’entreprendre une étude en deux phases sur les sciences de la mer au Canada. La première avait pour but de définir des thèmes de recherche prioritaires avec l’aide d’un groupe cadre de 22 experts canadiens et étrangers des sciences de la mer. Cette activité a abouti à la rédaction du rapport d’atelier, Les 40 questions prioritaires pour la recherche canadienne en sciences de la mer. Le rapport a été publié le 17 juillet 2012. Le rapport intégral peut être consulté ici :


Des Canadiens qui font une différence

À l’automne 2010, l’Académie canadienne des sciences de la santé (ACSS) a demandé au CAC de se charger du processus qui sous-tend l’élaboration d’une évaluation fondée sur les preuves et portant sur le rôle actuel du Canada en santé mondiale. L’objectif de cette étude était d’évaluer l’avantage comparatif du Canada en regard des besoins en santé mondiale, et de formuler un argumentaire en faveur d’un rôle de chef de file accru du Canada en santé mondiale. Ce rapport, intitulé Des Canadiens qui font une différence, a été lancé le 13 novembre 2011. La version intégrale du rapport peut être consultée depuis le site de


Catalyser l'économie numérique du Canada

Dans le cadre de la consultation gouvernementale sur l’économie numérique, le CAC a rassemblé un comité d’experts de sept membres en vue d’y soumettre un mémoire. Le comité d’experts était présidé par Peter J. Nicholson, président fondateur sortant du CAC.

Inscrivez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

Recevez nos avis, communiqués, publications, etc.!
Préférence English  Français
Information supplémentaire