Privacy Policy

The Council of Canadian Academies ("Council") is committed to protecting your privacy. This Privacy Policy (the "Privacy Policy") explains the Council's information management practices, including how the Council collects, uses and discloses personal information. The Privacy Policy applies to: (a) the "www.scienceadvice.ca" website, and the "www.sciencepourlepublic.ca " website, (collectively referred to herein as the "Web Site"); and (b) other communications you may have with the Council.

PLEASE READ THE PRIVACY POLICY CAREFULLY AS YOUR USE OF THE WEBSITE OR OTHER COMMUNICATION WITH THE COUNCIL INCLUDING BY E-MAIL OR TELEPHONE CONSTITUTES YOUR ACCEPTANCE OF THE PRIVACY POLICY AND ANY SUBSEQUENT MODIFICATIONS THERETO, INCLUDING, WITHOUT LIMITATION, YOUR CONSENT TO THE COLLECTION, USE AND DISCLOSURE OF YOUR PERSONAL INFORMATION IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE TERMS AND CONDITIONS SET OUT HEREIN.

1.    What Information Is Collected?

The information that the Council collects from you can be broadly grouped into the following two categories:
a.    Personal Information; and
b.    General Non-Specific & Demographic Information (Non Personal Information)

Personal Information
Personal information as used in the Privacy Policy is any information, recorded in any form, about an identified individual or an individual whose identity may be inferred or determined from such information, other than business contact information (e.g., name, title, business address). General

Non-Specific & Demographic Information (Non Personal Information)
Any non-personal information either voluntarily provided by you or recorded as part of your use of the Web Site, including any transaction conducted on the Web Site, is considered to be General Non-Specific & Demographic Information. Non-personal information is information that does not contain personally identifiable information, such as your name, address, telephone number and e-mail address, but may include the type and quantity of the products you purchased and demographic information.

2.    How does the Council Collect Information?

The Council may collect information about you when you: (a) use the Web Site; or (b) voluntarily provide your information to the Council, for instance: (i) by responding to our surveys; (ii) by contacting us via e-mail or telephone; or (iii) applying for our newsletters.

3.    What does the Council use the information for?

1.    Providing Services: The Council uses your information to provide you with services, including responding to your questions or requests.

2.    Understanding Your Preferences: In order to provide you with the best online experience possible, the Council collects both personal information and non-personal information to give us a better understanding of you and the demographic and geographic profile of our visitors generally. The information the Council collects is reviewed closely to assist us in determining the most popular products of interest to you and our other customers and better structure the Web Site to suit your needs

Similarly, by tracking your IP address through the Web Site, CCA can better understand the information which is relevant to you and may from time to time use this information to provide you with information which matches your preferences. Should you contact us via e-mail contact links on the Web Site or by telephone, the Council may keep your comments on file so that the Council has a record of your preferences and concerns.

3.     Obtaining Feedback: From time to time, the Council may send surveys to you via e-mail, provide a form online at the Web Site or contact you by phone in order to solicit feedback on improvements to be made to the Council services, including the Web Site in order to improve your online experience. You may provide such information or complete these surveys on a voluntary basis and the submission of personal information may not be required. Should you wish not to be contacted by phone for such purposes, please let us know (see section 13 for contact details).
4.    Newsletters: The Council may use your personal information to send newsletters in electronic or paper format to you if you have indicated that you are interested in receiving this material.

4.    Sharing of Information

Your personal information will not be shared with, disclosed, sold, traded or rented to any third parties and is collected for our express internal use. However the Council may disclose your personal information to: (a) any of our members, affiliates and subsidiaries that the Council deems appropriate; (b) to any of the Council's service providers.

We will not disclose such personal information unless it is required in order to provide our services. Where the Council discloses personal information to our members, affiliates, subsidiaries or service providers, we will require those organizations or individuals to use such information solely for the purposes of providing services to the Council, its members or the person concerned and to have appropriate safeguards for the protection of that personal information.

Please note that there are circumstances where the use and/or disclosure of personal information may be justified or permitted or where the Council is obliged to disclose information without consent. Such circumstances may include:

a)    Where required by law or by order or requirement of a court, administrative agency or governmental tribunal;
b) Where the Council believes, upon reasonable grounds, that it is necessary to protect the rights, privacy, safety or property of an identifiable person or group;
c) Where it is necessary to establish or collect monies owing to the Council;
d) Where it is necessary to permit the Council to pursue available remedies or limit any damages that we may sustain; or
e) Where the information is public.

Where obliged or permitted to disclose information without consent, the Council will not disclose more information than is required.

5.    Consent

Unless permitted by law, no personal information is collected, without first obtaining the consent of the individual concerned to the collection, use and dissemination of that information. However, we may seek consent to use and disclose personal information after it has been collected in those cases where we wish to use the information for a new or different purpose where the individual concerned has not already consented to such a use of their personal information.

By providing your personal information to the Council, you agree and consent that we may collect, use and disclose such personal information in accordance with this Policy. In addition, where appropriate, specific authorizations or consents may be obtained from time to time.
In most cases and subject to legal and contractual restrictions, you are free to refuse or withdraw your consent at any time upon reasonable, advance notice. However, it should be noted that in some circumstances, our services can only be offered if personal information is provided to the Council. Consequently, if you choose not provide us with any required personal information, we may not be able to offer the services requested. We will inform you of the consequences of the withdrawal of consent

6.    Protection of Personal Information

The Council endeavors to maintain appropriate physical, procedural and technical security with respect to its offices and information storage facilities so as to prevent any loss, misuse, unauthorized access, disclosure, or modification of personal information. This also applies to our disposal or destruction of personal information.

The Council further protects personal information by restricting access to it to those employees and service providers that the management of the Council has determined need to know that information in order that we may provide our services.

7.    Use of Cookies

"Cookies" are text files that are created by websites and stored on your computer's hard drive. Cookies do not contain personally identifiable information. These files assist a website in recognizing a user's preferences which may have been set by the user while on the Web Site, such as shopping cart preferences, usernames and passwords, etc The Council uses cookies on the Web Site. A cookie created by the Web Site cannot be recognized or viewed by another website, thus ensuring privacy on the customer's part. There is no way for a cookie to view or store any information from your hard drive, capture your e-mail address, or pass on a computer virus.

8.    Links

The Web Site may contain links to third-party websites. The Council has no control over such third-party websites. By clicking on a link, you agree that the Council is not responsible for the privacy practices of such third-party websites and that it is your responsibility to be aware of and comply with such privacy policies.

9.    Retention of Information

We will retain your personal information only as long as it is required for the reasons it was collected. When personal information is no longer required for the Council's purposes, we have procedures to destroy, delete, erase or convert it into an anonymous form.

10.    Access to Personal Information

The Council permits the reasonable right of access and review of personal information held by us about an individual and will endeavour to provide the information in question within a reasonable time, generally no later than 30 days following the request.
The Council will use reasonable efforts to allow you to update or correct personally identifiable information which you state as incorrect to the extent that such information has been maintained by the Council. The Council reserves the right not to change any personal information but may append any alternative text the individual concerned believes to be appropriate.

The Council reserves the right to decline to provide access to personal information where the information requested:
a)    Would disclose (i) personal information, including opinions, about another
individual or about a deceased individual; or (ii) business confidential information of the Council or a third party;
b) Would interfere with contractual or other negotiations of the Council or a third party;
c) Is subject to solicitor-client, litigation or other legal privilege;
d) Is not readily retrievable and the burden or cost of providing would be disproportionate to the nature or value of the information;
e) Does not exist, is not held, or cannot be found by the Council;
f) May harm or interfere with law enforcement activities and other investigative or regulatory functions of a body authorized by law to perform such functions; or
g) May be withheld or is requested to be withheld under applicable legislation.

Where information will not or cannot be disclosed, the individual making the request will be provided with the reasons for non-disclosure. The Council will not charge an individual for verifying or correcting their information, however, to the extent permitted by applicable law, there may be a minimal charge imposed where the individual needs a copy of records.

11.    Changes to the Privacy Policy

As our information management practices change, the Council reserves the right to update the Privacy Policy as required. If the Council decides to amend the Privacy Policy, the Council may post the amended terms on the Web Site so that you will always know what information the Council gathers, how the Council might use that information, and whether the Council will disclose it to anyone. Posting of amended terms shall constitute notice to you. All amended terms shall be effective immediately upon such notice. Your continued use of the Web Site or continued communication with the Council by telephone after such modifications will constitute your: (a) acknowledgement of the modified Privacy Policy; and (b) agreement to abide and be bound by the modified Privacy Policy.


12.    Contact Information

If you would like to receive a copy of the most current amendment of the Council's Privacy Policy or you have any questions or concerns about the Privacy Policy or the Council's privacy practices in respect of information collected on the Web Site or by telephone, please direct your questions and comments to:

The Council of Canadian Academies
180 Elgin St., Suite 1401
Ottawa, ON
K2P 2K3

Telephone: 613.567.5000
Fax: 613.567.5060
info@scienceadvice.ca

Mailing List Signup

Receive our newsletter, notifications of new assessments topics, news releases, and more!
Preference English  Français
Council Feature

Key discovery by CHEO researchers could lead to preventative treatments for Type 2 diabetes

Researchers at the Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO) Research Institute have made an important discove...
read more

Politique de protection des renseignements personnels

Le Conseil des académies canadiennes (CAC) s’engage à protéger le caractère privé de vos renseignements personnels. La présente politique explique les méthodes de gestion des informations du CAC, y compris les procédures suivies par le CAC quand il s’agit de rassembler, d’utiliser et de diffuser des renseignements personnels. Cette politique s’applique (a) aux sites Web <www.scienceadvice.ca> et <www.sciencepourlepublic.ca> (auxquels nous ferons désormais référence au moyen de l’expression « le site Web ») et (b) aux autres communications que vous pourriez entretenir avec le CAC.

VEUILLEZ LIRE ATTENTIVEMENT LA POLITIQUE DE PROTECTION DES RENSEIGNEMENTS PERSONNELS DU CONSEIL DES ACADEMIES CANADIENNES. EN UTILISANT LE SITE WEB DU CONSEIL OU EN COMMUNIQUANT AVEC LE CONSEIL PAR COURRIEL OU PAR TELEPHONE, VOUS SIGNIFIEZ QUE VOUS ACCEPTEZ LES MODALITES DE LA POLITIQUE DE PROTECTION DES RENSEIGNEMENTS PERSONNELS ET TOUTE MODIFICATION ULTERIEURE DE CETTE POLITIQUE ET QUE VOUS CONSENTEZ, ENTRE AUTRES, A CE QUE VOS RENSEIGNEMENTS PERSONNELS SOIENT RASSEMBLES, UTILISES ET DIFFUSES CONFORMEMENT AUX MODALITES DECRITES DANS LA POLITIQUE.

1. QUELS SONT LES RENSEIGNEMENTS RASSEMBLÉS PAR LE CAC?

Les renseignements rassemblés par le CAC auprès de ses usagers tombent en gros dans les deux catégories suivantes :

  1. renseignements personnels
  2. informations générales non spécifiques et d’ordre démographique (renseignements non personnels)


Renseignements personnels

Au sens de la présente politique, les renseignements personnels incluent toute information, enregistrée sous quelque forme que ce soit, qui porte sur une personne clairement identifiée ou qui permet de déduire ou de déterminer l’identité d’une personne, à l’exclusion des renseignements permettant de contacter les entreprises (nom, titre, coordonnées de l’entreprise, etc.).
Informations générales non spécifiques et d’ordre démographique (renseignements non personnels)
Nous considérons, dans la présente politique, que tout renseignement non personnel, que vous le fournissiez vous-même volontairement ou qu’il soit enregistré automatiquement dans le cadre de votre utilisation du site Web, relève de la catégorie « Informations générales non spécifiques et d’ordre démographique ». Ces renseignements non personnels sont des renseignements qui ne comprennent pas d’informations permettant de vous identifier personnellement (comme votre nom, votre adresse, votre numéro de téléphone ou votre adresse électronique), mais qui peuvent comprendre le type et la quantité de produits que vous avez achetés ou des informations d’ordre démographique.

2. COMMENT LE CAC RASSEMBLE-T-IL LES RENSEIGNEMENTS?

Le CAC peut rassembler des renseignements vous concernant soit (a) lorsque vous utilisez le site Web soit (b) lorsque vous fournissez volontairement des renseignements au CAC, par exemple (i) en répondant à un sondage, (ii) en communiquant avec nous par courriel ou au téléphone ou encore (iii) en vous abonnant à nos bulletins d’information.

3. QUELLE UTILISATION LE CAC FAIT-IL DES RENSEIGNEMENTS?

Le CAC utilise vos renseignements aux fins suivantes :

  1. pour offrir des services – Le CAC se sert de vos renseignements pour vous offrir des services et en particulier pour répondre à vos questions ou à vos demandes.

  2. pour comprendre vos préférences – Pour que vous puissiez faire la meilleure utilisation possible du site Web, le CAC rassemble à la fois des renseignements personnels et des renseignements non personnels, qui lui donnent une meilleure idée de ses lecteurs et du profil démographique et géographique des personnes qui visitent généralement le site. Nous examinons attentivement les renseignements rassemblés afin de déterminer les produits qui sont les plus populaires et qui vous intéressent le plus, vous et nos autres clients, et de mieux organiser le site Web afin qu’il réponde à vos besoins.

    De même, en utilisant notre site Web pour enregistrer votre adresse IP, nous arriverons à mieux déterminer les informations qui ont de la pertinence pour vous et nous pourrons donc utiliser de temps à autre ce paramètre pour vous fournir des informations correspondant à vos préférences. Si vous choisissez de communiquer avec nous en suivant les liens vers les adresses de courriel sur le site Web ou en nous appelant au téléphone, nous pourrons décider de conserver vos commentaires dans nos dossiers afin de pouvoir nous y référer ultérieurement pour déterminer vos préférences ou les sujets qui vous préoccupent.

  3. pour obtenir des commentaires et des suggestions – De temps à autre, le CAC pourra vous envoyer des sondages par courriel, mettre un formulaire de sondage en ligne sur son site Web ou communiquer avec vous au téléphone pour vous demander des commentaires et des suggestions concernant les améliorations que nous pourrions apporter aux services offerts par le CAC, y compris le site Web, afin d’améliorer la qualité de l’utilisation que vous pouvez faire du site. Vous serez libre de choisir de nous faire part ou non de telles informations ou de répondre ou non à ces sondages et cela pourra se faire sans que vous ayez nécessairement à fournir des renseignements personnels. Si vous préférez que nous ne communiquions pas avec vous au téléphone pour de tels sondages, veuillez nous le faire savoir. (Voir nos coordonnées à l’article 13 ci-dessous.)


4. DIFFUSION DES RENSEIGNEMENTS

Vos renseignements personnels ne sont ni diffusés, ni communiqués, ni vendus, ni échangés, ni loués auprès d’une quelconque tierce partie et sont rassemblés uniquement aux fins d’une utilisation interne. Il est cependant possible que le CAC communique vos renseignements personnels (a) à ses membres, organismes affiliés ou succursales s’il le juge approprié ou (b) à ses fournisseurs de service. Nous ne communiquerons ces renseignements personnels que si cela est nécessaire pour que nous puissions vous offrir nos services. Lorsque le CAC communique des renseignements personnels à ses membres, organismes affiliés, succursales ou fournisseurs de services, il exige de ces organismes ou individus que les renseignements en question soient utilisés exclusivement en vue de fournir des services aux CAC, à ses membres ou à la personne concernée et il exige d’eux qu’ils aient des dispositifs de protection pour garantir la sécurité de ces renseignements personnels.
Veuillez noter qu’il peut y avoir des circonstances dans lesquelles l’utilisation ou la communication de renseignements personnels est justifiée ou autorisée ou dans lesquelles le CAC est obligé de communiquer ces renseignements sans avoir obtenu l’autorisation de la personne concernée. Ces circonstances sont les suivantes :

  1. lorsque la loi ou une ordonnance ou une demande d’une cour, d’une agence administrative ou d’un tribunal gouvernemental l’exige;

  2. lorsque le CAC a des motifs raisonnables de penser que cela est nécessaire pour protéger les droits, la vie privée, la sécurité ou les biens d’une personne ou d’un groupe identifiable;

  3. lorsque cela est nécessaire pour déterminer si l’on doit de l’argent au CAC ou pour obtenir cet argent;

  4. lorsque cela est nécessaire pour permettre au CAC d’exercer les recours qui sont à sa disposition ou de limiter les préjudices qu’il risquerait de subir;

  5. lorsque ces informations relèvent du domaine public.

 

Lorsque le CAC sera obligé de communiquer des renseignements sans autorisation ou sera autorisé à le faire, il ne communiquera pas plus de renseignements qu’il n’est nécessaire.

5. AUTORISATION

En dehors des cas où la loi le permet, aucun renseignement personnel ne sera obtenu par le CAC sans que le CAC obtienne au préalable de la personne concernée l’autorisation de rassembler, d’utiliser et de diffuser ce renseignement. Il est possible, cependant, que nous autorisions l’utilisation et la communication de renseignements personnels après qu’ils ont été rassemblés dans les cas où nous souhaitons utiliser ces renseignements à des fins nouvelles ou différentes pour lesquelles la personne concernée n’a pas encore accordé son autorisation.

En fournissant vos renseignements personnels au CAC, vous signifiez votre accord et votre consentement à ce que nous rassemblions, utilisions et communiquions ces renseignements conformément à la présente politique. De surcroît, nous pourrons obtenir des autorisations ou des consentements spéciaux de temps à autre lorsque cela est approprié.

Dans la plupart des cas, sous réserve des restrictions juridiques ou contractuelles, vous avez toute liberté de refuser ou de retirer votre autorisation à tout moment, avec un préavis raisonnable. Il convient cependant de noter que, dans certaines circonstances, nous ne pouvons offrir nos services que si le CAC dispose de vos renseignements personnels. Si, par conséquent, vous choisissez de ne pas nous fournir ces renseignements personnels, il est possible que nous ne soyons pas en mesure de vous offrir les services demandés. Nous vous informerons des conséquences qu’aurait le retrait de votre autorisation.

6. PROTECTION DES RENSEIGNEMENTS PERSONNELS

Le CAC s’efforce de mettre en place des dispositifs de sécurité appropriés sur le plan physique, procédural et technique en ce qui a trait à ses bureaux et aux installations de stockage des informations, de façon à éviter toute perte, toute utilisation malvenue, tout accès non autorisé, toute communication ou toute modification des renseignements personnels. Ceci s’applique également à nos procédures d’élimination ou de destruction des renseignements personnels.

Le CAC protège de surcroît les renseignements personnels en limitant leur accès aux employés et aux fournisseurs de services dont les gestionnaires du CAC ont déterminé qu’ils avaient besoin de ces informations pour que le CAC puisse offrir ses services.

7. UTILISATION DES TÉMOINS (COOKIES)

Les témoins (« cookies ») sont des fichiers texte créés par les sites Web que vous visitez et enregistrés sur le disque dur de votre ordinateur. Ces fichiers ne contiennent aucune information permettant de vous identifier personnellement. Il s’agit de fichiers qui aident les sites Web concernés à tenir compte des préférences de l’utilisateur que celui-ci peut avoir choisies lors de son utilisation du site Web : préférences concernant le panier d’achats, nom d’utilisateur et mot de passe, etc. Le CAC utilise des témoins sur son site Web. Les témoins créés par le site Web du CAC ne peuvent être ni reconnus ni lus par un autre site Web, ce qui garantit le caractère privé des informations relatives au client. Il est impossible pour un témoin de consulter ou d’enregistrer des informations figurant sur votre disque dur, d’obtenir votre adresse de courriel ou de transmettre un virus informatique.

8. LIENS

Le site Web peut contenir des liens vers des sites Web appartenant à des tierces parties. Le CAC ne maîtrise en rien le contenu de tels sites appartenant à des tierces parties. En cliquant sur un lien de ce type, vous signifiez votre accord concernant le fait que le CAC n’est pas responsable des méthodes de ces sites concernant la protection des renseignements personnels et qu’il est de votre responsabilité de vous informer de ces méthodes et de vous y conformer.

9. CONSERVATION DES INFORMATIONS

Nous ne conservons vos renseignements personnels qu’aussi longtemps que cela est nécessaire pour les raisons pour lesquelles nous avons obtenu ces renseignements. Lorsque le CAC n’a plus besoin de ces renseignements personnels, nous disposons de procédures pour détruire, effacer ou supprimer les données ou les convertir en un format anonyme.

10. ACCÉS AUX RENSEIGNEMENTS PERSONNELS

Le CAC autorise les individus, dans les limites du raisonnable, à accéder aux renseignements personnels les concernant et à les examiner et s’efforce de fournir ces renseignements dans un délai raisonnable, c’est-à-dire généralement dans les 30 jours suivant la demande.

Le CAC vous permettra, dans la mesure du raisonnable, de mettre à jour ou de corriger les renseignements permettant de vous identifier dont vous dites qu’ils sont incorrects, dans la mesure où ces renseignements sont effectivement conservés par le CAC. Le CAC se réserve le droit de ne pas modifier les renseignements personnels mais pourra y ajouter tout autre texte que l’individu concerné jugera approprié.

Le CAC se réserve le droit de refuser l’accès aux renseignements personnels dans les cas où les renseignements demandés

  1. révéleraient soit (i) des renseignements personnels (y compris des opinions) concernant un autre individu ou un individu décédé soit (ii) des informations confidentielles concernant le fonctionnement du CAC ou d’une tierce partie;

  2. entraveraient les négociations contractuelles ou autres du CAC ou d’une tierce partie;

  3. sont couverts par le secret professionnel, font l’objet de contestations judiciaires ou sont couverts par d’autres privilèges juridiques;

  4. ne sont pas faciles à obtenir et demanderaient des mesures dont le poids ou le coût serait disproportionné par rapport à la nature ou à la valeur de ces renseignements;

  5. n’existent pas, ne sont pas conservés ou ne peuvent pas être trouvés par le CAC;

  6. peuvent freiner ou entraver les activités des forces de l’ordre ou d’autres procédures d’enquête ou procédures réglementaires émanant d’un organisme autorisé par la loi à effectuer de telles procédures;

  7. peuvent être refusés ou faire l’objet d’une demande de refus en vertu des textes de loi qui s’appliquent.

Lorsque le CAC refusera de communiquer les renseignements ou ne pourra pas le faire, il fournira à la personne ayant fait la demande les raisons du refus. Le CAC ne demandera pas de frais aux individus qui souhaitent vérifier ou corriger les renseignements personnels les concernant; il est cependant possible que le CAC demande des frais minimes, dans la mesure où cela est permis par les textes de loi qui s’appliquent, lorsque l’individu concerné souhaite recevoir une copie des dossiers.

11. MODIFICATIONS DE LA POLITIQUE DE PROTECTION DES RENSEIGNEMENTS PERSONNELS

Le CAC se réserve le droit, à mesure que ses pratiques en matière de gestion des informations évoluent, de mettre à jour sa politique de protection des renseignements personnels, selon les besoins. Si le CAC décide de modifier sa politique de protection des renseignements personnels, il pourra afficher les modifications sur son site Web, de façon à ce que vous sachiez toujours quel type de renseignements le CAC va rassembler, quelle utilisation le CAC pourra faire de ces renseignements et à qui ces renseignements pourront être communiqués. L’affichage des modifications sur le site sera considéré comme étant un avis aux utilisateurs concernant ces nouvelles modalités. Les modifications entreront en vigueur immédiatement une fois qu’elles auront été affichées sur le site. Si vous continuez à utiliser le site Web ou à communiquer avec le CAC au téléphone après l’affichage de ces modifications, cela signifiera que (a) vous êtes au courant des modifications apportées à la politique et que (b) vous acceptez de vous conformer et de vous astreindre à la politique modifiée.

12. COORDONNÉES

Si vous souhaitez recevoir une copie de la version la plus récente de la politique de protection des renseignements personnels du CAC ou si vous avez la moindre question ou préoccupation concernant cette politique ou les pratiques du CAC en matière de protection des renseignements personnels vis-à-vis des renseignements rassemblés sur le site Web ou au téléphone, veuillez adresser vos questions ou vos commentaires aux coordonnées suivantes :

Conseil des académies canadiennes
180, rue Elgin, bureau 1401
Ottawa (Ont.) K2P 2K3

Tél. : 613-567-5000
Téléc. : 613-567-5060

info@sciencepourlepublic.ca

Inscrivez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

Recevez nos avis, communiqués, publications, etc.!
Préférence English  Français
En vedette

Mise à jour des développements : comité d'experts sur l'aide médicale à mourir

Appel à contribution Pour éclairer ses délibérations, le comité d’experts sur ...
détails